Sex education helps young people make better choices

Y-SNAP - Youth SRHR Network in east and south east Asia and Pacific

This article is originally published in The Guardian young people’s sexual health matters

Norhidayah Nadila, of Melaka in Malaysia, describes the impact of peer to peer education

In my society, the word “sexuality” is very sensitive.

We don’t discuss sexuality with the elders because they may think it’s not the right time yet.

I once asked my mother why sexuality and sexual and reproductive health (SRH) issues aren’t discussed. She told me that when she was younger, these issues were not discussed because people were ashamed; she was told she would learn by herself when she was grown up or married. That’s Asian culture, we hide in our shells when it comes to this topic.

I’m a 22-year-old girl, if I had any problem regarding SRH I would not turn to my parents because I feel ashamed and uncomfortable to talk about it. I would search for my…

View original post 364 more words

Leave a Reply

